Chrome CSS Drop Down Menu

The 2009 Ateneo - La Salle Golf Classic

Lito Tanjuatco

The Ateneo - La Salle Golf Classic was held last July 31, 2009 at the North and South Courses of the Canlubang Golf and Country Club. This annual event, which is open to all alumni/alumnae and students (who have had at least one term of completed studies) from any Jesuit and La Salle Christian Brothers schools, was first launched in 1984. The Lasallian contingent was made up of 120 golfers compared to Ateneo’s 138. Though somewhat outnumbered, the Lasallian golfers fought gallantly.

While Ateneo won in 3 of the 8 divisions, the Championship, Class C, and Class D, La Salle won the remaining five (5) divisions namely: Class A, Class B, Open, Ladies and Seniors. Like last year, the match was close, in fact too close for comfort. But in the end La Salle emerged the victor. Out of the 88 points at stake, the La Salle contingent earned 47 points vis-à-vis Ateneo’s 41 for a narrow margin of 6 points.

It was a sweet victory for the Lasallian golfers as they were able to bounce back after 3 successive years of yielding the crown to their rivals.

The storied rivalry continues with next year’s event tentatively scheduled for June 4, 2010.
As Defending Champions, and with the billing rights that go with it, next year’s event will be officially known as the LA SALLE - ATENEO GOLF CLASSIC.

Photo Gallery
Tournament Results

» 2005 La Salle - Ateneo Golf Classic
» 2006 La Salle - Ateneo Golf Classic
» 2007 Ateneo - La Salle Golf Classic
» 2008 Ateneo - La Salle Golf Classic
» 2009 Ateneo - La Salle Golf Classic

» Back to previous page