Chrome CSS Drop Down Menu

The 2006 La Salle - Ateneo Golf Classic Cup

The 2006 La Salle-Ateneo Golf Classic Tournament, a two-day event held on May 15 & 16, was transferred to the Canlubang Golf & Country Club. After the last golf ball had been holed out, a cocktail reception and awards dinner was held on May 16, 2006 at the Wack-Wack Golf & Country Clubhouse.

The tournament was open to all alumni and students of Christian Brothers or Jesuit educational institutions, including those in the Visayas and Mindanao. In 2004, a new competition format highlighted fellowship more than competition. Two-man teams composed of one Lasallian and one Atenean played together and competed against all other two-man teams. In 2005, the tournament reverted to a true La Salle vs. Ateneo classic. Individual competition format was adopted; alumni and students from both schools played and earned points for their respective alma mater. The school with most points won the tournament. There were two divisions: Challenge and Seniors.

In 2006, to further promote competition in all skill levels, golfers are further subdivided into eight handicap groups, including special groups for the Ladies and Seniors. The organizers believed that half the fun in participating is the opportunity of having each person play to his or her best ability and their scores to count towards the final outcome.

Being the second of the best-of-three individual-format competition and having won the first of the series, Team La Salle looked forward to keeping the trophy for good, but Team Ateneo succeeded in frustrating their arch rivals by winning in 2006.

2006 Official Event Streamer
Official Event Streamer

View Tournament Results

» 2005 La Salle - Ateneo Golf Classic
» 2006 La Salle - Ateneo Golf Classic
» 2007 Ateneo - La Salle Golf Classic
» 2008 Ateneo - La Salle Golf Classic
» 2009 Ateneo - La Salle Golf Classic

» Back to previous page